The Victorian Life

d41ba0a862492351dc512fc8572fe859
A Victorian girl (probably) dying beautifully from consumption.

I love everything about the Victorian era. Well, not everything. The Thames was overflowing with filth. There weren’t any antibiotics. Tuberculosis claimed lives as did birthing complications. If disease didn’t get you, perhaps Jack the Ripper would. Basically, anything could kill you. Women couldn’t vote (or do anything much, really) . The British Empire systematically oppressed the native population in colonies.  Oh, and let’s not forget about child labour.

But. The Victorian age was the beginning of the modern era. Industrialization dismantled the feudal system. The landed gentry began to lose their hegemony. Industrialization created opportunity, mass consumption and the middle class. It was a time if great invention and great change.

etiquettebook_sm
“Pleased to make your acquaintance, Miss May-I-Marry-You.”

As the British Empire flourished, so did art and culture. Some of the world’s greatest novels were written in the Victorian era. Architecture was designed to impress. (A touch too many gargoyles, but ok.) Perhaps the most elaborate of all was social norms. The balls, the dresses, the hairstyles, how people greeted each other. Elaborate social rules that at once confound and fascinate. (You can dance with a woman at a ball, but not say hello to her if you see her on the street, unless you’ve both been formally introduced by a common acquaintance. That’s a far cry from swiping right on tinder.)

I don’t know exactly when my obsession with the Victorian era began, but it’s culminated into a carefully curated facebook group called The Victorian Life. We discuss everything Victorian – from the Bronte sisters and body snatchers, to corsets and crinolines. If you love the Victorian era too, join us.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1199489966762278/

the-victorian-life-banner

9 thoughts on “The Victorian Life

Add yours

  1. I’m fascinated by the Victorian era, too. It was a time of such change and, although it wouldn’t have seemed like it at the time, the beginning of better things ahead (although perhaps WW1 and eventual votes for women did even more to change things). The whole Industrial Revolution changed the way of life as well as the landscape and set us all on a roller-coaster ride.
    I’l look forward to reading your posts on the Victorian way of life. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Millie. Yes, it was a fascinating time and the Industrial revolution did change everything. It lasted for so long too – the Victorian era. A long and stable monarchy definitely helped development and growth. Thank you for the follow and for your interest in my blog. I hope to write more soon. 🙂

      Like

  2. When I decided to write a vampire novel that included the illusion of time travel, I chose the late Victorian period for all of the reasons you stated. Looking forward to reading more posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Denise! I hope to write more soon. 🙂
      The late Victorian period seems so rich with possibility, science fiction fits in seamlessly! Your novel sounds cool. 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi – love your site. I have found a kindred spirit!! I love the 19th century but lean towards late Victorian as my favourite decades and my novels are set in this era. Looking forward to more of your posts.

    Like

    1. Hi Pam!
      Thank you for your kind words. 🙂 Late Victorian is my favourite too! I’m also obsessed with Ireland and lighthouses. I’ve been following your website, and The Bowes Inheritance and The Lighthouse Keeper are on my ‘to-read’ list.One day I might see Dunluce Castle with my own eyes, but for now, drone footage on youtube will have to do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dunluce is fab but Giant’s Causeway is only down the road from it and is something to see. If you get round to reading any of my stories I’d love to know what you think. Lovely to connect with a fellow Victorianist!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

